Salem Frequently Asked Questions
Yes! It’s available for iPhone! Search for “Salem Moderator” in the app store and download it for free.
Yes! It’s rough and slightly outdated (we’re making a new one soon). But here it is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnI00k6nEE4 You can also watch a game streamed by Battle Bin here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yw1kx6IfymU&feature=youtu.be
Currently we are testing several possible expansions, including “Courts of Salem” and “Ghosts of Salem.” We’re thrilled with both so far. These expansions will be created if the demand is there for them. So keep spreading the Salem community and we’ll make the expansions happen!
Back in the 1600s Tryal was often spelled with a “y” instead of an “i”, much like old used to be spelled “olde.”
We wrote a blog entry about fitting Salem in the box and getting sleeves for the game. Read it here: https://facadegames.com/storing-sleeving-for-salem/
No! As the first law of Salem states, you may never play a card on yourself. This includes blue, green, and red cards. For example, you can’t give yourself Piety or Asylum. You can’t use Robbery to give someone else’s cards to yourself. You can’t move cards off of yourself using Scapegoat. You can’t use Alibi to move Accusations off of yourself. The only way to win in this game is to have allies who have your back!
Once a witch, always a witch! As explained in the Conspiracy section of the rulebook, you remain aligned with the witch team, even if you don’t have the Witch card anymore. But remember, to win the townspeople only need to hunt down the actual Witch card, not all of the witches.
Since the Black Cat is a blue card, once it is in play just treat it like any other blue card. It can get discarded by Curse, moved with Scapegoat, or get discarded when the person with it dies. If a person re-draws it from the deck, they can play it on anyone they would like.
If Conspiracy is drawn and the Black Cat is not in play, then nobody loses a Tryal from the Black Cat.
When a player dies, the cards from their hand and the cards in front of them all go to the discard pile.
Conspiracy happens simultaneously for all players. Therefore, you can only take cards from the person to your left, not from the person to their left who they just took a Tryal card from.
Yes. Once during the game Tituba can rearrange all cards in the deck, including the Night card, for two lengths of the hourglass. If she’s a witch this can be very helpful to finish the townspeople off. If she’s not a witch, it’s helpful for her to move Conspiracy to the bottom of the deck.
One of our users, Thomas Averette, had a great idea. Here’s what he said: “One idea I had was a “Benefit of a Doubt” rule where if you have 3 or more Tryal cards face-down the accuser chooses 2 cards instead of one and the accused gets to choose which one to reveal. The benefit of this is that unless the Witch makes a mistake there will not be an early Tryal reveal. The players will still get a great deal of information by how the accused reacts to the Tryal cards chosen (hesitation, relief, etc.). I don’t think this would create much benefit for the Witch as a group who is convinced will quickly reduce the Witch to two cards and the Benefit of a Doubt will no longer apply.”
Extra Cards/New Card Ideas
These cards can either be used to replace worn-out or lost cards, or they can also be used to invent new cards in the deck! If you have an idea for a new green, blue, or Tryal card, we’d love to hear about it! Contact us so we can spread the word.
Spy: Gets to see one Tryal card during the Night.
Pardon: When played on a player who has lost at least one Tryal card, that person randomly chooses one Tryal card from all those previously discarded in the game. This could re-introduce the Constable, or even make them a Witch. It could serve to slightly extend play, and balance the power to an ally who is lagging behind in remaining Tryal cards. (From Dennis Gorsline)
Peek: The person it’s played on gets to see one Tryal card on any player. (From Austin)